Introduction
This guide shares featured books, e-resources and online information related to Hospitality Management for your learning and research. It also provides search tips to help you identify and locate library resources. Please feel free to explore the guide by clicking on the tabs above.
Discovery Search
BrowZine
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Reference Tools

ISBN: 9781466686076
Publication Year: 2015
eBook
 

This handbook consists of research articles on a variety of topics relating to the hospitality industry around the world. They include studies on a sustainable hotel business model, environmental management systems in tourism and hospitality establishments, hotel staff turnover and customer service experience.


 
Camillo, A. A. (Ed.). (2015). Handbook of research on global hospitality and tourism management. Business Science Reference.

Call no.: 647.94 INTE 2010
ISBN: 9781856177146
Publication Year: 2010
Book
 

This encyclopedia comprises over 700 entries about the managerial aspects of the hospitality industry, including human resources, marketing, accounting and finance, strategic management and facilities management. Arranged alphabetically, the entries are brief explanations on concepts and terms written by professionals in the industry.


 
Pizam, A. (Ed.). (2010). International encyclopedia of hospitality management (2nd ed.). Butterworth-Heinemann.

Call No: KF2042.H6 B368 2017
ISBN: 9781119305040
Publication Year: 2017
Book
 

This book serves as a reference for readers to examine legal issues in the hospitality industry. It focuses on the practical application of hospitality laws in real-world settings and provides case studies and exercises for further exploration.


 
Barth, S. C., & Barber, D. S. (2017). Hospitality law: Managing legal issues in the hospitality industry (5th ed.). John Wiley & Sons.
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Books and eBooks

Call no.: TX911.3.M27 W35 2020
ISBN: 9780135209813
Publication Year: 2020
Book
 

This book offers a comprehensive account on the operations and management of the hospitality industry in major areas, such as lodging, catering, tourism and recreation as well as events and assemblies. First-hand accounts, case studies and corporate profiles are also provided as extra references.


 
Walker, J. R. (2020). Introduction to hospitality (8th ed.). Pearson Education.

Call no.: TX911.3.M27 V352 2018
ISBN: 9780134303505
Publication Year: 2018
Book
 

This book covers in detail the operations and management of hotels, such as room reservation, billing and recordkeeping. It also discusses the application of technology to hospitality management, such as up-to-date technology in reservation and payment, mobile applications and devices as well as cyber security in the hospitality industry.


 
Vallen, G. K., & Vallen, J. J. (2018). Check-in check-out: Managing hotel operations (10th ed.). Pearson Education.

Call no.: G155.A1 E927 2020
ISBN: 9781138345942
Publication Year: 2020
Book
 

This book introduces strategies for managing tourism, hospitality and event organizations in operational, financial, human resources management and other aspects. Strategic formulation, implementation and evaluation are discussed, together with case studies on various hotel groups, airline companies and event organizers.


 
Evans, N. (2020). Strategic management for tourism, hospitality and events (3rd ed.). Routledge.

Call no.: TX911.2 .F455 2019
ISBN: 9780134735900
Publication Year: 2019
Book
 

This book introduces the key players and issues involved in planning meetings, expositions, events and conventions. Elements of event planning, such as food and beverage supply, technological application in marketing and communication as well as relevant legal issues are covered.


 
Fenich, G. G. (2019). Meetings, expositions, events, and conventions: An introduction to the industry (5th ed.). Pearson Education.

Call no.: TX911.3.M27 F68 2012
ISBN: 9781439060322
Publication Year: 2012
Book
 

This book examines hospitality principles and strategies that value customer experiences and produce a positive hospitality culture that fulfils guest expectations. It also covers topics such as staffing, employees’ training and development as well as service delivery assessment.


 
Ford, R. C., Sturman, M. C., & Heaton, C. P. (2012). Managing quality service in hospitality: How organizations achieve excellence in the guest experience. Delmar Cengage Learning.

Call no.: HF5415.5 .L83 2019
ISBN: 9781260092509
Publication Year: 2019
Book
 

This book analyzes consumer behaviour and introduces the skills necessary to build and maintain customer relationships. Such skills include verbal and nonverbal communication skills and attributes that encourage customer loyalty. Case studies of companies are offered as supplementary references.


 
Lucas, R. W. (2019). Customer service: Skills for success (7th ed.). McGraw-Hill Education.

ISBN: 9781292156163
Publication Year: 2017
eBook
 

This book explores the marketing process, opportunities and strategies for hospitality and tourism industries. Consumer behaviour, branding, pricing, customer relationship management and advertising are some of the topics discussed in detail.


 
Kotler, P., Bowen, J. T., Makens, J. C., & Baloglu, S. (2017). Marketing for hospitality and tourism (7th ed.). Pearson Education.

Call no.: G550 .G53 2019
ISBN: 9781138505179
Publication Year: 2019
Book
 

This book examines different topics of cruise operations management from hospitality perspectives. Topics include guest services, food and drink operations, facilities management as well as health and safety issues. Case studies are offered to give a real-world insight into the cruise industry.


 
Gibson, P., & Parkman, R. (2019). Cruise operations management: Hospitality perspectives (3rd ed.). Routledge. 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Journals

International Journal of Contemporary Hospitality Management


ISSN: 0959-6119 (Print); 1757-1049 (Electronic)
eJournal



This journal contains scholarly articles on the management of global hospitality and tourism businesses. It covers various aspects, such as hospitality management strategies, methods and principles, new techniques and innovations as well as marketing and financial issues.

International Journal of Event and Festival Management


ISSN: 1758-2954 (Print); 1758-2962 (Electronic)
eJournal



This journal publishes research articles about management issues on different occasions, from small festivals to large-scale business and special events. Some of the research areas are planning and design, sponsorship, logistics, financial matters and public relations.

Cornell Hospitality Quarterly


ISSN: 1938-9655 (Print); 1938-9663 (Electronic)
eJournal



Published in association with Cornell University’s School of Hotel Administration, this journal comprises peer-reviewed articles related to hospitality management research and practice. Major research areas include strategic and operational management, human resources, finance, marketing, and facilities and design.

International Journal of Culture, Tourism and Hospitality Research


ISSN: 1750-6182 (Print); 1750-6190 (Electronic)
eJournal



This journal publishes articles that explore the role of culture in hospitality and tourism industries worldwide. Research topics include culture and behaviour of tourists, marketing practices, consumer behaviour and trends as well as destination culture.

Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Databases
Access icons
Restricted Resource
Mobile Apps
User Guide
Information
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Online Resources
The website provides all sorts of information related to the global hospitality industry. It not only reports news and the latest trends in areas of hotel development, food and beverage as well as sales and marketing, but also provides educational events and information about renowned hotel schools and hospitality programmes worldwide.
  The website not only releases updated information about seminars and forums for the hotel industry in Hong Kong, but also provides an A-Z directory with location maps and links to most local hotels.
  The website provides Annual Reports of the Travel Industry Council of Hong Kong for free download, in addition to the Voice of TIC, a quarterly published journal with featured stories on local and overseas tourism issues.
  As a specialized agency of the United Nations, the World Tourism Organization’s website publishes tourism reports, featured stories and policy papers about the latest trend of tourism industry around the globe. It also provides tourism statistics of individual countries for reference of subscribed users.
  The website reports the latest news and events held by the Association and the local convention industry in general. It also provides research and survey reports on both local and overseas exhibition industries.
  The website of an international association of exhibition organizers and operators, it releases topical reports about the global exhibition industry. Publications include Global Barometer, a bi-annual report on the latest development of the industry around the world, and Compendium, a report of case studies on various aspects of the industry, such as marketing and digital innovation.
 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Search Tips
The following table lists the call number ranges of the suggested areas related to Hospitality Management under the Library of Congress (LC) Classification Scheme. You can look for library resources of a particular subject area within these ranges.
 
Subject Area Subclass
Home economics – Hospitality industry. Hotels, clubs, restaurants, etc. Food service
 
TX901 - 946.5
 
Geography (General) – Travel. Voyages and travels (General)
 
G149 - 180
 
Geography (General) – Travel. Voyages and travels (General) – Travel and state. Tourism
 
G154.9 - 155.8
 
Geography (General) – Seafaring life, ocean travel, etc.
 
G540 - 550
 
Manners and customs (General) – Customs relative to public and social life
 
GT3400 - 5090
 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email