What is EndNote?
Note: The EndNote software is strictly for use by current students and staff at CIHE/CBCC only.

EndNote is a reference management software that assists you to:
  • Store and manage your bibliographic references
  • Search online resources for additional references
  • Create in-text citations for your papers
  • Build a bibliography
  • Share personal library of references with your fellow partners
     
EndNote Desktop:  Guide for Installation
 
EndNote Web:  http://www.myendnoteweb.com
More about EndNote
A 7-minute video introducing the major features of EndNote:

Windows


Macintosh
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Notes before installation
  • Make sure all other Microsoft Office applications (e.g Word, Powerpoint) are closed before the installation.
  • Uninstall the older version of EndNote before installing a new version.
Install EndNote Desktop
  1. Go to https://libapps.cihe.edu.hk/EndNote
  2. Login using your network login / windows account
  3. Read through the Conditions of Use of the EndNote Software
  4. Select your operating system and an appropriate EndNote version to download the installer
    [Note: You are recommended to install EndNote 20 for Windows 10, and EndNote X9 for Windows 7]
  5. Double click the installer to start the installation
  6. Select  “Typical” as the installation type
  7. Follow the remaining instructions from the EndNote Setup Wizard to finish the installation
     
Windows
Install EndNote Desktop (For Staff Desktop Computer)
  1. Open Self Service Portal

  2. Select an appropriate EndNote version and click “Install”
    [Note: You are recommended to install EndNote 20 for Windows 10, and EndNote X9 for Windows 7]
  3. If you have installed EndNote 20, select the application “EndNote 20 - Update” and click “Install” to update your EndNote to the latest version


Note: If you encounter any difficulties in installing EndNote using the Self Service Portal, please contact the Information Technology Services Centre (ITSC) for assistance.
How to Create a Library?
Create an EndNote library to save all title records you need to import

1.  Select “File” at the top left corner and then click “New…”



 
2.  A new library will be created with the default file name “My EndNote Library”. Rename it at your discretion and click “Save”.
 



Important Note:
Once you created an EndNote library (.enl file), an accompanying data folder (.data folder) exists. This folder must not be removed as all bibliographical information and images are kept here. Doing so would disrupt the normal functioning of the EndNote software.
 
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
How to Add References?
To add references to EndNote, you have to export the title records in one or all of the following ways:
  • Discovery Search
  • Online databases
  • PDF files
Discovery Search
To export a record from Discovery Search:

      1.   On the Discovery Search platform, select the title record you would like to export
      2.   Select “ENDNOTE DESKTOP / RIS” in the “Send to” section
      3.   Select “UTF-8” from the pull-down menu of “Encoding” and click “Download”
      4.   Open the downloaded file and the record will appear on your EndNote library

[Note: EndNote 20 will automatically open during the downloading process. However, if you have previously created more than one EndNote library, please select the one to which the record will be imported.]



 
Online Databases
To export a record from an online database:

      1.   In the database, select the title record you would like to export
      2.   Click on the “Export” icon or similar options provided in the databases  
            [Note: The name of the icon varies, e.g. Export / SaveCitation Export]
      3.   Select “Direct Export in RIS Format” or similar options
      4.   Open the downloaded file and the record will appear on your EndNote library

[Note: EndNote 20 will automatically open during the downloading process. However, if you have previously created more than one EndNote library, please select the one to which the record will be imported.]


EBSCOhost Databases




ProQuest Databases



 
PDF Files
Endnote can automatically extract reference information (e.g. title, author, publication year) from PDF files as long as their DOIs (Digital Object Identifiers) are embedded in the files. For those without DOIs, you have to type in the reference information manually.

To import a PDF file with DOI:

      1.   In the EndNote library, go to “File” at the top left corner, choose “Import” and then “File...” from the pull-down menu
      2.   When the “Import File” pop-up window appears, click “Choose...” to select the PDF file in your PC


     
     3.   In “Import Option:”, select “PDF”
     4.   Click “Import” and the record will appear in the EndNote library
 
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
How to Create In-Text Citations & Reference List?
A “EndNote 20” tab will appear on the MS Word toolbar once the EndNote software has been installed on your PC. To insert citations in Word:
 
1.   Open a Word file, place the cursor in the area where you would like the citation to appear
2.   Click “Insert Citation...” at the top left corner of the Word file under the "EndNote 20" tab on the toolbar



3.   When the “Find & Insert My References” pop-up window appears, type in the keywords to locate the titles in the library
      you have previously created
4.   Select the title and click “Insert” to add your selection to the Word file



5.   Both in-text citations and the reference entries will appear in your Word file
6.   Choose the citation style (APA 7th for CIHE/CBCC) from the pull-down menu on the toolbar


 
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
How to Edit a Citation?
1.   Place the cursor on the in-text citation you want to edit

2.   Open “Edit & Manage Citation(s)” on the toolbar. A pop-up window appears.
 

3.   Select edit options (e.g. Exclude Author & Year) from the pull-down menu next to “Formatting:”
4.   Add page numbers if needed next to “Pages:”
 

5.   The in-text citation will be changed according to the selected options.


 
How to Remove a Citation?
1.   Choose “Remove Citation” on the “Edit Reference” menu
2.   Click “OK”
 
 
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
How to Organize Your Reference Entries?
1.   Go to the pull-down menu of “Groups” and select “Create Group”
 

2.   Name your group (e.g. cancer)
 

3.   To add a title to the group, highlight it and select “Add references To” from the pull-down menu of “Groups”
     [Note: Alternatively, highlight the title and then drag and drop it into the group]
 

 
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email