Introduction
This guide shares featured books, e-resources and online information related to Translation & Interpreting for your learning and research. It also provides search tips to help you identify and locate library resources. Please feel free to explore the guide by clicking on the tabs above.
Discovery Search
 
 
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Reference Tools

ISBN: 9780415524841
Publication Year: 2015
Book
 

This encyclopedia covers a host of issues about computer-aided translation and machine translation. These include major concepts and development of translation technology around the world, and topical studies in areas such as localization, language codes and tags, terminology management and translation memory.


 
Chan, S. W. (Ed.). (2015). The Routledge encyclopedia of translation technology. Routledge.

Call no.: PL1277 .E53 2018
ISBN: 9789629968397
Publication Year: 2018
Book
 

This encyclopedia comprises scholarly articles by specialists in practical translation and interpreting. Issues discussed include English-Chinese translation of practical writings, translation of quotes in Chinese literary works, conference and simultaneous interpreting as well as translation technology and its practical applications.


 
Chan, S. W. (Ed.). (2018). An encyclopedia of practical translation and interpreting. The Chinese University Press.
 

Call no.: P306 .E57 2020
ISBN: 9781138933330
Publication Year: 2020
Book
 

Written by international experts, this encyclopedia presents concepts, theories and topics of translation studies in A to Z entries. Examples include audiovisual translation, critical discourse analysis, corpora, dubbing, note-taking and memory. Annotated references for further reading are also provided at the end of each entry.


 
Baker, M., & Saldanha, G. (Eds.). (2020). Routledge encyclopedia of translation studies (3rd ed.). Routledge.

ISBN: 9781315745381
Publication Year: 2015
eBook
 

This handbook provides a comprehensive account on major aspects of interpreting, such as its history and evolution, modes and settings as well as specific issues and debates relating to ethics, professional identity and the role of interpreters.


 
Mikkelson, H., & Jourdenais, R. (Eds.). (2015). The Routledge handbook of interpreting. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315745381

Call no.: T11 .H27 1997 v.2
ISBN: 9781556195099
Publication Year: 2001
Book
 

Apart from the first volume explaining the basic principles of terminology management, this volume studies the application of terminological tools in different aspects. Research areas include terminology and total quality management, terminology in technical writing, and the role of specialist terminology management in artificial intelligence.


 
Wright, S. E., & Budin, G. (Eds.). (2001). Handbook of terminology management: Application-oriented terminology management (Vol. 2). John Benjamins Publishing Company.

Call no.: PL1455 .C56 2019
ISBN: 9789620705458
Publication Year: 2019
Book
 

This dictionary is a practical tool to examine Putonghua and English equivalents of Cantonese words and expressions. It contains nearly 3,000 Cantonese headwords, with corresponding Putonghua and English words and phrases listed next to the headwords for reference. Entries are arranged in normal and reverse order when appropriate.


 
Chan, S. W. (2019). A new comprehensive Cantonese-Putonghua-English dictionary. The Commercial Press (H.K.) Limited.
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Books and eBooks

Call no.: P306.97.T73 C53 2017
ISBN: 9780367409050
Publication Year: 2017
Book
 

This book traces the development of translation technology and introduces major concepts of computer-aided translation. It also explores the functions, strengths and weaknesses of its free and paid systems as well as offers prediction for the future advances in translation technology.


 
Chan, S.-W. (2017). The future of translation technology: Towards a world without Babel. Routledge.

Call no.: P308 .H86 2019
ISBN: 9780367892036
Publication Year: 2019
Book
 

This book consists of research studies in various issues about machine translation, such as the use of machine translation system to localize business websites, the latest database technologies in managing terminology resources and the problems of accuracy in translating texts from English to another language through machine translation.


 
Chan, S.-W. (Ed.). (2019). The human factor in machine translation. Routledge.

Call no.: P306 .M865 2012
ISBN: 9780415584890
Publication Year: 2012
Book
 

This book provides a comprehensive account on the history, concepts and theories of translation studies. It also explores the role of translators in society and the new directions of translation in various media.


 
Munday, J. (2012). Introducing translation studies: Theories and applications (3rd ed.). Routledge.

 
ISBN: 9781315649573
Publication Year: 2016
eBook
 

This book introduces the development of interpreting as a discipline and explains various concepts, models and methodologies, in addition to topics related to interpreting research, such as language and memory, discourse in interaction and technology.


 
Pöchhacker, F. (2016). Introducing interpreting studies (2nd ed.). https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315649573

 
ISBN: 9789027288080
Publication Year: 2009
eBook
 

This book offers a detailed account on both conceptual and application issues in translation and interpreting, including theoretical models, ad hoc knowledge acquisition strategies, tactics for simultaneous interpreting, sight translation, and criteria of producing good quality translation works.


 
Gile, D. (2009). Basic concepts and models for interpreter and translator training. John Benjamins Publishing Company.

Call no.: PL1074.5 .A38 2007
ISBN: 9789812569042
Publication Year: 2007
Book
 

This book brings together scholarly articles in various research studies related to Chinese spoken language processing. These include studies on the phonetic and phonological background of Chinese spoken languages, tone modeling, Mandarin text-to-speech synthesis, Cantonese speech recognition, and speech-to-speech translation.


 
Lee, C. H., Li, H., Lee, L. S., Wang, R. H., & Huo, Q. (Eds.). (2007). Advances in Chinese spoken language processing. World Scientific.
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Journals

Machine Translation


ISSN: 0922-6567 (Print); 1573-0573 (Electronic)
eJournal



This journal covers scholarly articles in various aspects of computational linguistics and language issues, including machine translation, speech processing, software localization and language modeling.

Target: International Journal of Translation Studies


ISSN: 0924-1884 (Print); 1569-9986 (Electronic)
eJournal



This journal publishes peer-reviewed articles on translation and interpreting, covering studies in theoretical, cultural, sociological, linguistic, cognitive and other aspects.

Translation & Interpreting: The International Journal of Translation and Interpreting Research


ISSN: 1836-9324
eJournal



Published by the University of Western Sydney, this journal consists of peer-reviewed research articles on all aspects of translation and interpreting that contribute to the training and practice of the field.

Journal of Translation Studies


ISSN: 1027-7978
Journal



Published by the Chinese University of Hong Kong, this journal contains peer-reviewed bilingual articles on topics related to translation studies. The articles mainly cover the theoretical and practical aspects of Chinese-English and English-Chinese translation.

Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Databases
 
For more subject databases, please view full list
Access icons
Restricted Resource
Mobile Apps
User Guide
Information
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Online Resources
The archive contains a list of downloadable resources in all areas of computational linguistics and natural language processing. These resources are mainly research papers presented in conference proceedings and workshops as well as journal articles published in Computational Linguistics and Transactions of the Association for Computational Linguistics.
  The archive stores a large number of publications in the field of machine translation. Most of them are full-text articles arranged in topics such as "systems and project names" and "methodologies, techniques, applications, uses" for easy access and retrieval.
  The website provides news and events about machine translation, especially links to the proceedings of conferences held annually by the Association under the "EAMT Conference" section.
  The website of a global association of translators and interpreters, it provides publications such as newsletters and discussion papers about different language and translation issues, such as machine translation and remote interpreting.
  The website provides downloadable articles published by the New Voices in Translation Studies, the online journal of the associaton. It features articles mainly related to translation and intercultural communication.
 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Search Tips
The following table lists the call number ranges of the suggested areas related to Translation & Interpreting under the Library of Congress (LC) Classification Scheme. You can look for library resources of a particular subject area within these ranges.
 
Subject Area Subclass
Philology. Linguistics – Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar – Translating and interpreting
 
P306 - 310

 
Philology. Linguistics – Computational linguistics. Natural language processing
 
P98 - 98.5
 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email