Introduction
This guide shares featured books, e-resources and online information related to Language & Communication for your learning and research. It also provides search tips to help you identify and locate library resources. Please feel free to explore the guide by clicking on the tabs above.
Discovery Search
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Reference Tools

ISBN: 9781139050623
Publication Year: 2013
eBook
 

This dictionary provides definitions and explanations of hundreds of grammatical terms arranged in alphabetical order and supplemented with examples. It also highlights the differences between spoken and written English grammar.


 
Peters, P. (2013). The Cambridge dictionary of English grammar. Cambridge University Press. https://doi.org/10.1017/CBO9781139050623

Call no.: PE1449 .M275 2017
ISBN: 9781316631171
Publication Year: 2017
Book
 

This book suggests choices of English words and expressions that can be used in everyday life, whether at work or with friends. It offers 101 exercises in different topics for learners to improve their English skills and assess their language proficiency. Answers are provided at the end of the book.


 
McCarthy, M., & O'Dell, F. (2017). English vocabulary in use: Advanced (3rd ed.). Cambridge University Press.

Call no.: PE1106 .S94 2016
ISBN: 9780194202435
Publication Year: 2016
Book
 

This book focuses on the usage of English language in two major areas, namely, grammar and vocabulary. Grammatical errors and common word problems are listed together with examples for readers' reference.


 
Swan, M. (2016). Practical English usage (4th ed.). Oxford University Press.

Call no.: PE1413 .B28 2018
ISBN: 9781138048744
Publication Year: 2018
Book
 

This book serves as a practical guide for writing academic essays. It explains each writing step with examples, from brainstorming, finding suitable sources, making notes to organizing paragraphs and proofreading. It also suggests tips to deal with new vocabulary and phrases when reading academic texts.


 
Bailey, S. (2018). Academic writing: A handbook for international students (5th ed.). Routledge.

ISBN: 9781118332382
Publication Year: 2013
eBook
 

This handbook consists of research articles in multiple aspects of bilingualism and multilingualism. These include societal, psychological and educational research as well as case studies in different parts of the world.


 
Bhatia, T. K., & Ritchie, W. C. (Eds.). (2013). The handbook of bilingualism and multilingualism (2nd ed.). Wiley Blackwell. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118332382
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Books and eBooks

Call no.: P107 .F76 2017
ISBN: 9781337559577
Publication Year: 2017
Book
 

This book provides a comprehensive account on the meaning of language, word formation, sentence structure and sound patterns. Other language-related topics such as language acquisition, bilingual education and sociolinguistic issues are also discussed.


 
Fromkin, V., Rodman, R., & Hyams, N. (2017). An introduction to language (11th ed.). Cengage Learning.

Call no.: P107 .Y85 2020
ISBN: 9781108730709
Publication Year: 2020
Book
 

This book explains the major concepts and principles of language in various areas, including phonetics, syntax, pragmatics and discourse analysis. It also includes topical studies such as second language acquisition, language and culture, and social/regional variation in language.


 
Yule, G. (2020). The study of language (7th ed.). Cambridge University Press.

Call no.: P90 .L48 2017
ISBN: 9781478634058
Publication Year: 2017
Book
 

This book presents various communication theories and models, and discusses elements of communication such as communicator, message and medium. It also explores communication theories in different contexts, including group, organization, relationship, culture and society.


 
Littlejohn, S. W., Foss, K. A., & Oetzel, J. G. (2017). Theories of human communications (11th ed.). Waveland Press.

Call no.: HF5718 .A33 2019
ISBN: 9781260084597
Publication Year: 2019
Book
 

This book introduces communication principles, models and practical skills that one can apply in workplace to facilitate communication and exchange. Effective listening and its barriers, clarity and ambiguity in verbal messages as well as effective presentation and interviewing strategies are some of the contents covered.


 
Adler, R. B., Maresh-Fuehrer, M. M., Elmhorst, J., & Lucas, K. (2019). Communicating at work: Strategies for success in business and the professions (12th ed.). McGraw-Hill Education.

ISBN: 9781631572333
Publication Year: 2015
eBook
 

This book is a detailed guide on how to write professionally in today’s business world. It explains the writing process step-by-step and explores various writing genres, such as reports, letters, e-mails and proposals with sample documents to help professionals sharpen their skills in composing effective and convincing workplace documents.


 
Mizrahi, J. (2015). Writing for the workplace: Business communication for professionals. Business Expert Press.

Call no.: PN4775 .K37 2012
ISBN: 9780205781126
Publication Year: 2012
Book
 

This book highlights the essential rules of journalism and provides step-by-step guide in writing news stories. Apart from giving instructions for writing editorials, reviews and criticism, it also discusses grammatical issues and word usage in news.


 
Kershner, J. W. (2012). The elements of news writing (3rd ed.). Allyn & Bacon.

Call no.: PL2262 .Z46 2007
ISBN: 9789620426711
Publication Year: 2007
Book
 

本書就實用文和文學不同特點提出實用句法文學句法兩分的理論,並附以例子加以說明。作者亦對宋詞及近現代詩詞創作,以及香港流行曲歌詞作出評鑑。


 
周鍚馥(2007)。《中文寫作新視野:從實用寫作到文學創作》。香港:三聯書店(香港)有限公司。

Call no.: PL1275 .T358 2003
ISBN: 9789882000803
Publication Year: 2003
Book
 

本書主要介紹不同種類的應用文如商業信函、私人信函、便條及報告的寫作須知及技巧,並提供實例示範加以說明。


 
談彥廷、鄒兆玲(2003)。《活學活用應用文》(增訂版)。香港:香港教育圖書公司。
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Journals

Applied Linguistics


ISSN: 0142-6001 (Print); 1477-450X (Electronic)
eJournal



Published by the Oxford University Press, this journal comprises scholarly articles in various aspects of linguistics, such as corpus linguistics, discourse analysis, multilingualism and second language acquisition.

Bilingualism: Language and Cognition


ISSN: 1366-7289 (Print); 1469-1841 (Electronic)
eJournal



Published by the Cambridge University Press, this journal publishes peer-reviewed articles on topics of bilingualism, including bilingual language competence, processing and acquisition as well as the cognitive functions and processes in bilinguals.

Studies in Second Language Acquisition


ISSN: 0272-2631 (Print); 1470-1545 (Electronic)
eJournal



This journal consists of articles about the acquisition of non-native languages and related issues around the world. Some of the topics are word-knowledge development in Chinese, phonetic acquisition of Spanish language, and sociolinguistic competence of non-native speakers studying aboard.

Asian Journal of English Language Teaching


ISSN: 1026-2652 (Print)
Journal



Published by the Chinese University of Hong Kong Press, this journal consists of research articles in English language teaching mainly in Asian countries. Research topics include bilingual and multilingual education, second langauge acquisition, and technological application in language teaching and learning.

Corporate Communications: An International Journal


ISSN: 1356-3289 (Print); 1758-6046 (Electronic)
eJournal



This journal publishes research articles in aspects of organizational communication and public relations. Research areas include the effects of corporate communication strategies on companies’ profitability, the relationship between communication and employees’ performance as well as press and media relations.

Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Databases

For more subject databases, please view full list
Access icons
Restricted Resource
Mobile Apps
User Guide
Information
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Online Resources
The website provides instructional guides, online exercises and quizzes in different areas, including English grammar, vocabulary and business writing.
  此網站提供漢字的中英文解釋、粵語讀音以及配詞字庫。
  Produced by the University of Manchester, the website offers numerous examples of phrases that assist students in writing academic papers. The examples are categorized according to various writing purposes, such as describing trends, making comparisons and offering critical claims.
  The website offers different examples to help improve the clarity of sentences in academic papers, such as the use of transitional words, parallel constructions and active voice.
  Produced by the Harvard University, the website provides detailed instructions on essay writing, and the evaluation and use of sources. It also offers tips on grammar, style and punctuation in the Strategies for Essay Writing section.
  The website of an American linguistics organization, it provides free resources related to the topics of language learning and teaching, such as dual language education, cultural linguistics and second language acquisition. The available resources include informative reports, commentaries and research articles.
  A unit of the Council of Europe, the Centre aims to promote plural-lingualism and intercultural learning to European migrants and ethnic minorities. Although focused primarily on Europe, it provides reference resources for language practitioners around the world to conduct language teaching and intercultural communication studies.
 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Search Tips
The following table lists the call number ranges of the suggested areas related to Language & Communication under the Library of Congress (LC) Classification Scheme. You can look for library resources of a particular subject area within these ranges.
 
Subject Area Subclass
Philology. Linguistics – Communication. Mass media
 
P87 - 96
 
Philology. Linguistics – Communication. Mass media – Oral communication. Speech
 
P95 - 95.6
 
Philology. Linguistics – Semiotics. Signs and symbols
 
P99 - 99.4
 
Philology. Linguistics – Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar
 
P101 - 410
 
Philology. Linguistics – Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar – Language acquisition
 
P118 - 118.75

 
Philology. Linguistics – Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar – Style. Composition. Rhetoric
 
P301 - 301.5

 
Philology. Linguistics – Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar – Discourse analysis
 
P302 - 302.87
 
Philology. Linguistics – Language. Linguistic theory. Comparative grammar – Semantics
 
P325 - 325.5
 
English – Modern English
 
PE1001 - 1693
 
Languages of Eastern Asia, Africa, Oceania – Chinese language and literature – Chinese language
 
PL1001 - 1960

 
Commerce – Business – Business communication
 
HF5717 - 5734.7
 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email