 |
|
ISBN: 9781623966126 (v.1) ISBN: 9781623966157 (v.2) Publication Year: 2015 eBook |
|
|
Volume I focuses on the use of systematic and qualitative research methodologies such as the Delphi technique and grounded theory to collect and analyze data related to early childhood education. Volume II introduces observational research methodologies and highlights the ethical issues involved in conducting research with young children. |
|
|
Saracho, O. N. (Ed.). (2015). Handbook of research methods in early childhood education: Review of research methodologies. Information Age Publishing.
|
 |
|
ISBN: 9783319284927 Publication Year: 2016 eBook |
|
|
This handbook offers a detailed account on evidence-based practices in different core intervention areas such as literacy and motor skills in early childhood special education (ECSE). Strategies for planning and implementing these practices in ECSE classrooms are covered. |
|
|
Reichow, B., Boyd, B. A., Barton, E. E., & Odom, S. L. (Eds.). (2016). Handbook of early childhood special education. Springer.
|
 |
|
ISBN: 9781118660584 Publication Year: 2013 eBook |
|
|
This encyclopedia addresses a variety of issues in special education for all ages, covering topics of growing concern such as neuropsychology, autism and applied behavior analysis as well as positive behavioural interventions and support. |
|
|
Reynolds, C. R., Vannest, K. J., & Fletcher-Janzen, E. (Eds.). (2013). Encyclopedia of special education: A reference for the education of children, adolescents, and adults with disabilities and other exceptional individuals (4th ed.). John Wiley & Sons. https://doi.org/10.1002/9781118660584
|
|
|
|
ISBN: 9781593634698 Publication Year: 2009 eBook |
|
|
This encyclopedia is a concise guide to understanding Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) and their adverse effects on individuals’ communication, behaviour, and social and living skills. Early intervention services, therapies and early childhood education practices for children with ASD are discussed. |
|
|
Boutot, E. A., & Tincani, M. (Eds.). (2009). Autism encyclopedia: The complete guide to Autism Spectrum Disorders. Prufrock Press.
|
 |
|
ISBN: 9781785926082 Publication Year: 2019 eBook |
|
|
This is a research-based guide that covers various training strategies and practical activities for teachers dealing with students with autism. Challenges in teaching maths and physical education to autistic students are discussed, in addition to behaviour management in classroom setting. |
|
|
Lawrence, C. (Ed.). (2019). Teacher education and autism: A research-based practical handbook. Jessica Kingsley Publishers.
|
 |
Call no.: LB1139.25 .M67 2020 |
| ISBN: 9780135240519 Publication Year: 2020 Book |
|
|
This book introduces early childhood education in themes, such as early childhood programmes, diversity, ethical decision making, practices among professionals and technological application in classes. It also explains the changing educational needs that are critical to the development of children from birth to 8 years of age. |
|
|
Morrison, G. S., Woika, M. J., & Breffni, L. (2020). Fundamentals of early childhood education (9th ed.). Pearson Education.
|
 |
Call no.: LC4019.3 .K75 2012 |
| ISBN: 9780136064237 Publication Year: 2012 Book |
|
|
This book provides real-life case studies for educators and relevant professionals to acquire formal and informal assessment knowledge as well as practical skills in serving children with special needs and in managing classrooms effectively. |
|
|
Kritikos, E. P., LeDosquet, P. L., & Melton, M. (2012). Foundations of assessment in early childhood special education. Pearson Education.
|
|
|
ISBN: 9781315688169 Publication Year: 2016 eBook |
|
|
This book offers strategies to enhance learning for children with autism and other complex learning difficulties, and explains the importance of play and musical activities to their development. Supplementary resources such as assessment forms and visual timetables are provided in relevant chapters. |
|
|
Macintyre, C. (2016). Strategies to support children with autism and other complex needs: Resources for teachers, support staff and parents. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315688169
|
 |
|
ISBN: 9781315818443 Publication Year: 2016 eBook |
|
|
This book identifies the signs and symptoms of dyslexia and offers assessment and practice strategies to support the learning of children with dyslexia. Learning games are suggested and supplementary materials such as monitoring chart and dyslexia-aware multiplication table are attached for reference. |
|
|
Pavey, B. (2016). Dyslexia and early childhood: An essential guide to theory and practice. Routledge. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315818443
|
 |
|
ISBN: 9780199948932 Publication Year: 2014 eBook |
|
|
This book provides assessment information for practitioners who work with preschool children suffering from attention-deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). Such information includes diagnostic interview, neuropsychological testing and a wide range of treatment interventions. Practical case studies are also provided. |
|
|
Ghuman, J. K., & Ghuman, H. S. (Eds.). (2014). ADHD in preschool children: Assessment and treatment. Oxford University Press.
|
 |
|
ISBN: 9780857004857 Publication Year: 2012 eBook |
|
|
This book suggests music therapy interventions and collaboration among professionals that include music therapists, educators and speech-language pathologists in developing the potential of children with Autism Spectrum Disorders. Case scenarios, charts and music scores are provided as additional references. |
|
|
Kern, P., & Humpal, M. (Eds.). (2012). Early childhood music therapy and Autism Spectrum Disorders: Developing potential in young children and their families. Jessica Kingsley Publishers.
|
 |
Early Childhood Education Journal |
ISSN: 1082-3301 (Print); 1573-1707 (Electronic) eJournal |
|
|
|
|
 |
Journal of Early Childhood Teacher Education |
ISSN: 1090-1027 (Print); 1745-5642 (Electronic) eJournal |
|
|
|
|
 |
Early Education and Development |
ISSN: 1040-9289 (Print); 1556-6935 (Electronic) eJournal |
|
|
|
|
 |
The American Journal of Occupational Therapy |
ISSN: 0272-9490 (Print); 1943-7676 (Electronic) eJournal |
|
|
This journal publishes articles related to health issues in the field of occupational therapy by the American Occupational Therapy Association. Topics about the application of occupational therapy to early childhood special education are covered. |
|
- Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCOhost)
Academic Search Ultimate is a multi-disciplinary research database that provides more than 12,000 full-text periodicals, among which 10,600 are peer-reviewed journals. In addition to academic journals and magazines, it also includes current videos from Associated Press, books, reports, conference papers and government documents that can meet the needs of scholars in nearly every academic discipline.
- Education Source (EBSCOhost)
Education Source is one of the world?s largest full-text research database designed to meet the needs of education students and professionals. It covers nearly 2,000 full-text journals, over 550 monographs and more than 2,500 education-related conference papers, with their coverage dating back to 1880. Education Source spans all levels of education, from early childhood education to higher education, and also includes other education specialties such as multilingual education and health education.
- Education Collection (Proquest)
The Education Collection gives users access to over 1,090 top scholarly publications in the field of education. Apart from primary, secondary and higher education, it also covers literature in childhood education, home schooling, adult education and hundreds of related topics. This collection also provides access to ERIC, which is the world most widely used index to educational-related literature.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost)
ERIC is an information center of education literature and research publications. It provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1996.
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile)
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference Complete is a great resource for a variety of educators?from teachers and administrators to those studying in the field at the collegiate and graduate level. It seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education and every educational specialty, such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
Duration: 6 minutes and 4 seconds
This video shows the appropriate use of information technology, e.g. cloud-based storage system in aiding students with dyslexia to read, write and learn. Educators have to keep abreast of the latest technology and its application in education while carefully striking a balance between the use of technology and traditional teaching methods.
Duration: 12 minutes and 37 seconds
This video presents the view of a special education practitioner who criticizes that the current practice of excessive praise and punishment in British schools in motivating children with ADHD has negative effects on their development. He believes that curiosity, flexibility and mindfulness interventions should be the new approaches in helping children with ADHD.
This webpage provides a pool of resources about different learning and intellectual disabilities of children for reference of parents and teachers. Resources include articles and videos on different topics like ADHD, Dyslexia and emotion management, key notes on professional therapies and mobile apps training games for children with special education needs.
This is a US-based association concerning dyslexia and its related issues worldwide. Its website contains large volume of information about the disorder, particularly in the “Resources” section. This includes fact sheets on topics about diagnosis of dyslexia and ADHD, working memory and effective reading instructions, as well as monthly newsletters and a video library.
| A | C | D |
| E | I | K |
| L | M | P |
| S | ||
| Subject Area | Subclass |
| Theory and practice of education – Early childhood education |
LB1139.2 - 1139.5 |
| Theory and practice of education – Preschool education. Nursery schools |
LB1140 - 1140.5 |
| Theory and practice of education – Education and training of teachers and administrators – Professional aspects of teaching and school administrators. Vocational guidance |
LB1775 - 1785 |
| Special aspects of education – Education of special classes of persons – Exceptional children and youth. Special education |
LC3950 - 4806.5 |
| Special aspects of education – Education of special classes of persons – Exceptional children and youth. Special education – Children and youth with disabilities. Learning disabled children and youth |
LC4001 - 4806.5 |
| The Family. Marriage. Women – The family. Marriage. Home – Children. Child development |
HQ767.8 - 792.2 |
| Pediatrics – Child health. Child health services |
RJ101 - 103 |
| Pediatrics – Diseases of children and adolescents |
RJ370 - 550 |
| Pediatrics – Diseases of children and adolescents – Mental disorders. Child psychiatry |
RJ499 - 507 |
