Introduction
This guide shares featured books, e-resources and online information related to Art & Architecture, Fashion Design, Graphic Design and Interior Design for your learning and research. It also provides search tips to help you identify and locate library resources. Please feel free to explore the guide by clicking on the tabs above.
Discovery Search
BrowZine
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Reference Tools

Call no.: N5300 .G25 2020
ISBN: 9781337630702
Publication Year: 2020
Book
 

This book illustrates the history of art around the world through distinctive artworks, including paintings, sculptures and architecture from prehistoric times to the contemporary period. The background of artworks and the social, political, cultural and religious implications they reflect are discussed.

 

Kleiner, F. S. (2020). Gardner’s art through the ages: A global history (16th ed.). Cengage Learning.

Call no.: N5303 .A755 2014
ISBN: 9780714867373
Publication Year: 2014
Book
 

This book explores the history of influential art styles and movements from a present-to-past arrangement. Cultural traditions of Western art, starting from the contemporary period, then back to the Renaissance, Medieval World and Classical Age are introduced, along with arts in Asia, Africa and Latin America.

 

Fortenberry, D. (Ed.). (2014). Art in time: A world history of styles and movements. Phaidon Press.

ISBN: 9781118981610
Publication Year: 2017
eBook
 

This book illustrates the global history of architecture from the ancient period to the modern times. Supplemented by maps, floor plans and 3D drawings, it describes the features and functions of landmark architecture in a certain period as well as their influence on the architectural styles in the latter periods.

 

Ching, F. D. K., Jarzombek, M. M., & Prakash, V. (2017). A global history of architecture (3rd ed.). John Wiley & Sons.

Call no.: NA2850 .H365 2015
ISBN: 9781444336283
Publication Year: 2015
Book
 

This handbook explores the connection between theory and practice in interior design and introduces methodological approaches that are applicable to interior design research. There are also chapters exploring the integration of design practices with elements of culture, ecology and sustainability.

 

Thompson, J. A. A., & Blossom, N. H. (Eds.). (2015). The handbook of interior design (3rd ed.). Wiley Blackwell.

ISBN: 9781780676296
Publication Date: 2014
eBook
 

This book introduces various research methods that help fashion designers explore and develop ideas on garment styles that suit the market needs. Key research areas of garment design and production are discussed in each chapter, including fabric, colour, visual information and fashion market.

 

Mbonu, E. (2014). Fashion design research. Laurence King Publishing.

ISBN: 9781119954842
Publication Date: 2011
eBook
 

This book provides detailed instructions regarding the use of Adobe Illustrator to create technical drawings and story boards for both fashion designers and students. Selection tools and functions of Illustrator are introduced along with the skills necessary to master the drawing of garments.

 

Centner, M., & Vereker, F. (2011). Fashion designer's handbook for Adobe Illustrator (2nd ed.). John Wiley & Sons.

Call no.: NC997 .N63 2016
ISBN: 9781474232906
Publication Date: 2016
Book
 

This book introduces research methodologies for graphic designers to conduct visual research. It discusses themes such as visual grammar, semiotics and design literacy, and ways in which theories and concepts involved can be put into practice to assist in the design production.

 

Noble, I., & Bestley, R. (2014). Visual research: An introduction to research methods in graphic design (3rd ed.). Fairchild Books.

ISBN: 9781631594304
Publication Year: 2017
eBook
 

This manual explains the importance of research in understanding the needs of clients and the market in general. It presents various research strategies and tactics in the areas of marketing and user experience as well as ways of analyzing findings and applying them to the design process.

 

O’Grady, J. V., & O’Grady, K. V. (2017). A designer’s research manual: Succeed in design by knowing your clients + understanding what they really need (2nd ed.). Rockport Publishers.

Call no.: NC1001 .S76 2010
ISBN: 9781592536177
Publication Year: 2010
Book
 

This book explores the fundamentals of design management and the operation of design businesses. Design-centric research, design strategies, risk assessments and practices for managing client expectations are discussed with case studies as supplements.

 

Stone, T. L. (2010). Managing the design process – concept development: An essential manual for the working designer. Rockport Publishers.
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Books and eBooks

Call no.: NC715 .D388 2016
ISBN: 9780986163739
Publication Year: 2016
Book
 

This book explains the fundamental concepts and principles of two-dimensional design, and presents in each chapter with relevant contemporary artworks the basic design elements such as line, shape, size, colour and space.

 

Davis, J. (2016). Foundations of design (2nd ed.). Tempe Digital.

Call no.: NC999.2 .C55 2014
ISBN: 9780321887207
Publication Year: 2014
Book
 

This book introduces contemporary graphic designers whose works had been influential in shaping the visual culture of their times and continue to have an impact in the 21st century. Landmark works including posters, logos, packaging, magazine covers and film graphics are visually presented throughout the book.

 

Clifford, J. (2014). Graphic icons: Visionaries who shaped modern graphic design. Peachpit Press.

Call no.: Z246 .A5537 2018
ISBN: 9781474254793
Publication Year: 2018
Book
 

This book focuses on the study of text-and-image arrangement on a page that could give readers a powerful visual effect. Provided with examples of current practices, it discusses the basic elements on a page, form and layout as well as the overall design scheme that could influence how readers view and perceive the content.

 

Ambrose, G., & Harris, P. (2018). Layout for graphic designers: An introduction (3rd ed.). Bloomsbury Visual Arts.

Call no.: NC750 .M648 2013
ISBN: 9781118134146
Publication Year: 2013
Book
 

This book introduces basic principles and techniques of perspective drawing, which are suitable for students in interior design and architecture. It offers numerous illustrations to guide readers in drawing various objects from different angles and in suitable proportions with the use of shadows and reflections.

 

Montague, J. (2013). Basic perspective drawing: A visual approach (6th ed.). John Wiley & Sons.

Call no.: NA2708 .K56 2014
ISBN: 9781609019976
Publication Year: 2014
Book
 

This book provides step-by-step illustrations to guide future interior designers how to draw clear yet detailed design drawings using simple tools, such as T-squares and triangles. It also shares drawing examples of windows, walls, doors and furniture in a floor plan and the techniques used in creating interior and exterior elevations.

 

Kingsley, D. B. W. (2014). Hand drafting for interior design (4th ed.). Fairchild Books.

ISBN: 9781118173244
Publication Year: 2012
eBook
 

This book presents the methods and techniques used in creating visual representations of interior design, including hand drawing and 3D computer modeling. The use of digital tools such as SketchUp and AutoCAD to produce design graphics and models is also mentioned, along with examples of design projects in real-world setting.

 

Mitton, M. (2012). Interior design visual presentation: A guide to graphics, models and presentation techniques (4th ed.). John Wiley & Sons.

Call no.: TT508 .S67 2017
ISBN: 9781474270007
Publication Year: 2017
Book
 

This book explains in detail the fashion design process from research and design to the selection of fabrics and construction methods. It also introduces ways to develop a fashion brand. Interviews with fashion practitioners and exercises are provided at the end of each chapter as supplementary references.

 

Sorger R., & Udale, J. (2017). The fundamentals of fashion design (3rd ed.). Bloomsbury Visual Arts.

Call no.: TT507 .G68 2015
ISBN: 9781628923414
Publication Year: 2015
Book
 

This book explores various career opportunities for fashion graduates. The job nature, required qualitifications and career challenges of trend forecasters, textile stylists, buyers and production managers are introduced together with case studies and experience sharing by fashion entrepreneurs and design executives.

 

Granger, M. (2015). The fashion industry and its careers: An introduction (3rd ed.). Fairchild Books.

Call no.: TS171.4 .B47 2015
ISBN: 9781472573674
Publication Year: 2015
Book
 

This book focuses on the management aspect of the design industry, explaining in detail the design strategy, process and implementation which are critical for a design to be influential and valuable in the market. Case studies on design companies and interviews with design entrepreneurs are provided to supplement the explanation.

 

Best, K. (2015). Design management: Managing design strategy, process, and implementation (2nd ed.). Fairchild Books.
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Journals

Domus: Contemporary Architecture Interiors Design Art


ISSN: 0012-5377
Journal



Published in English and Italian on a monthly basis, this magazine covers a wide range of topics in interior design, architecture and applied arts from an international perspective. It also introduces upcoming designers and their works as well as design companies around the world.

Hinge


ISSN: 1561-7815
Journal



This magazine mainly reports local news in design and architecture, but there are also featured stories and interviews with professionals from around the world. Other design-related issues such as eco-city, urban planning and sustainability are also explored.

i-D Magazine


ISSN: 0262-3579
Journal



Published bi-monthly in Britain, this magazine mainly covers fashion news, show reports and fashion photography. It also explores beauty, music and cultural issues with a focus on youth.

International Designers Network


ISSN: 1029-4813
Journal



Printed in Chinese, this magazine mainly covers issues related to graphic design, such as publication design, packaging design, infographics and visual merchandising. It also introduces the works of graphic designers in different areas of the industry and the ideas that inspire them to produce such works.

Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Databases
Access icons
Restricted Resource
Mobile Apps
User Guide
Information
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Online Resources
The website provides numerous open-access historical images in art, clothing, porcelains and graphic illustrations around the globe, which are available for searching and downloading in the Public Collections.
  The website offers news about the fashion industry around the world. It reports the latest fashion trends and features, and provides images of the latest fashion shows. It also covers marketing and retailing issues of the fashion industry.
  The art archive provides digital images of artworks mainly by Hong Kong artists and includes not only modern and contemporary Chinese art, but also installations, photography, carving, sculpture and ceramics. The artists' background, areas of specialization and exhibitions are recorded in the archive.
  The website offers a variety of art information, especially on drawing and painting techniques. Online resources and tutorials on drawing human figures, facial features and other objects as well as painting landscapes are provided.
 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Search Tips
The following table lists the call number ranges of the suggested areas related to Art & Architecture, Interior Design, Graphic Design and Fashion Design under the Library of Congress (LC) Classification Scheme. You can look for library resources of a particular subject area within these ranges.
 
Subject Area Subclass
Visual arts
 
N1 - 9211
 
Visual arts – History
 
N5300 - 7418
 
Architecture
 
NA1 - 9428
 
Architecture – Architecture drawing and design
 
NA2695 - 2793
 
Drawing. Design. Illustration
 
NC1 - 1940
 
Drawing. Design. Illustration – Commercial art. Advertising art
 
NC997 - 1003
 
Painting
 
ND25 - 3416
 
Decorative arts
 
NK1 - 9990
 
Decorative arts – Decoration and ornament. Design – General works
 
NK1505 - 1535
 
Decorative arts – Furniture
 
NK2200 - 2750
 
Handicrafts. Arts and crafts – Clothing manufacture. Dressmaking. Tailoring
 
TT490 - 695
 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email