Introduction
This guide shares featured books, e-resources and online information related to Computing & Technology for your learning and research. It also provides search tips to help you identify and locate library resources. Please feel free to explore the guide by clicking on the tabs above.
Discovery Research
 
 
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Reference Tools

Call no.: QA76.73.C15 H363 2016
ISBN: 9780134014890
Publication Year: 2016
Book
 

This book explores in depth the C programming language, its common errors, selection structures and pointers concepts. It also provides case studies and real world examples in each chapter to demonstrate the application of the language in real-life settings.


 
Hanly, J. R., & Koffman, E. B. (2016). Problem solving and program design in C (8th ed.). Pearson Education.

ISBN: 9781593279288
Publication Year: 2019
eBook
 

This book explains the general concepts of Python programming such as lists, classes and loops. It also introduces methods to produce simple video games and interactive web applications as well as data visualization techniques to produce graphs and charts.


 
Matthes, E. (2019). Python crash course: A hands-on, project-based introduction to programming (2nd ed.). No Starch Press.

Call no.: QA76.73.C153 W46 2014
ISBN: 9780132847377
Publication Year: 2014
Book
 

This book introduces advanced data structures and algorithm design techniques, and explores abstract data types such as lists, stacks and queues to effectively develop computer programmes.


 
Weiss, M. A. (2014). Data structures and algorithm analysis in C++ (4th ed.). Pearson Education.

Call no.: QA76.758 .P75 2020
ISBN: 9781260548006
Publication Year: 2020
Book
 

This book discusses software engineering in 4 major parts: the software process, modeling, quality management and software projects management. Written by software engineers, it aims to convey useful models, methods and techniques in developing and managing software projects.


 
Pressman, R. S., & Maxim, B. R. (2020). Software engineering: A practitioner’s approach (9th ed.). McGraw-Hill Education.

Call no.: QA76.76.A65 P475 2019
ISBN: 9780135245125
Publication Year: 2019
Book
 

Written by software engineers and computer programmers, this book focuses on the techniques of developing Android applications, including their mode of operation, user interfaces, and styles and themes.


 
Marsicano, K., Gardner, B. M., Phillips, B., & Stewart, C. (2019). Android programming: The Big Nerd Ranch guide (4th ed.). Big Nerd Ranch.

Call no.: QA76.76.H94 M655 2019
ISBN: 9780134801148
Publication Year: 2019
Book
 

This book mainly focuses on the development of websites using markup languages. It discusses various issues, such as colour and text, graphics and visual effects as well as page layout. There are also chapters covering website promotion and e-commerce.


 
Felke-Morris, T. A. (2019). Web development and design foundations with HTML5 (9th ed.). Pearson Education.
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Books and eBooks

Call no.: T58.5 .R35 2018
ISBN: 9789387472297
Publication Year: 2018
Book
 

This book explains how computers acquire, process, organize, store and disseminate text, images, numbers, and multimedia data. It also introduces the operation of computer networks, Internet applications and business information systems as well as the current trend of e-commerce and cloud computing.


 
Rajaraman, V. (2018). Introduction to information technology (3rd ed.). PHI Learning Private Limited.

Call no.: Q335 .R86 2021
ISBN: 9780134610993
Publication Year: 2021
Book
 

This book explains the concepts of artificial intelligence and introduces the most up-to-date technologies in the field. Other major themes discussed include machine learning, deep learning, natural language processing and robotics.


 
Russell, S. J., & Norvig, P. (2021). Artificial intelligence: A modern approach (4th ed.). Pearson Education.

Call no.: QA76.575 .L5 2014
ISBN: 9783319346786
Publication Year: 2014
Book
 

This book provides an overview of multimedia, including its development, key concepts, software tools and various data compression techniques. It also explores issues such as multimedia communications and networking, content sharing and retrieval as well as the use of cloud computing in multimedia services.


 
Li, Z. N., Drew, M. S., & Liu, J. (2014). Fundamentals of multimedia (2nd ed.). Springer.

Call no.: QA76.9.D3 M395 2020
ISBN: 9781292263359
Publication Year: 2020
Book
 

This book offers a comprehensive account on the design, implementation and managerial practices of database systems. It also explores advanced database topics such as big data technologies, data warehousing and integration as well as database administration and data quality.


 
Hoffer, J. A., Ramesh, V., & Topi, H. (2020). Modern database management (13th ed.). Pearson Education.

ISBN: 9781292153605
Publication Year: 2017
eBook
 

This book discusses the concepts and principles of the Internet and computer networks in a layered approach: from the application layer to the link layer. It also covers topics such as network security, wireless and mobile networks, and multimedia networking applications.


 
Kurose, J. F., & Ross, K. W. (2017). Computer networking: A top-down approach (7th ed.). Pearson Education.

Call no.: QA76.76.I59 M55 2020
ISBN: 9781138341586
Publication Year: 2020
Book
 

This book explores the use of various types of digital media in telling stories. Apart from tracing the development of storytelling and digital entertainment, it also explores the trend of using augmented reality and virtual reality to teach, inform and promote via immersive storytelling.


 
Kurose, J. F., & Ross, K. W. (2017). Digital storytelling: A creator’s guide to interactive entertainment (4th ed.). Boca Raton, FL: CRC Press.
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Journals

Journal of Experimental and Theoretical Artificial Intelligence


ISSN: 0952-813X (Print); 1362-3079 (Electronic)
eJournal



This peer-reviewed journal covers both theoretical and applied research articles on different topics of artificial intelligence, such as cognitive science, memory and neural system modeling, perception, knowledge representation and games.

Applied Intelligence


ISSN: 0924-669X (Print); 1573-7497 (Electronic)
eJournal



This journal publishes peer-reviewed articles that apply intelligent systems and neural networks to solve complex problems in various industries, such as IT and software, electronics, telecommunications and finance.

Educational Technology Research and Development


ISSN: 1042-1629 (Print); 1556-6501 (Electronic)
eJournal



Published by the Association for Educational Communications & Technology, this academic journal consists of research articles on the application, evaluation and management of technology and instructional design in various educational settings, including kindergarten, primary and higher education, and adult learning.

Computer Graphics Forum


ISSN: 0167-7055 (Print); 1467-8659 (Electronic)
eJournal



Published on behalf of the European Association for Computer Graphics, this journal covers articles relating to the latest research on computer graphics and its applications in commercial, academic, cultural, entertainment and other aspects. It also includes in-depth technical reports, surveys and conference proceedings.

Journal of Interactive Media in Education


ISSN: 1365-893X
eJournal



This peer-reviewed journal publishes articles mainly about the use of digital media in higher education. It focuses on both theoretical and practical aspects of interactive media in supporting teaching and learning.

Discovery Search
   
Need Help?
Contact:
General Enquiries: 3653-6620
Email : library@cihe.edu.hk
Databases
Access icons
Restricted Resource
Mobile Apps
User Guide
Information
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Online Resources
The website publishes talks by IT professionals about the latest computing trends and emerging technologies, covering topics in artificial intelligence, machine learning, data science, mobile computing and others.
  Operated by the open online course provider edX, the website offers free short courses in computer science delivered by world-known IT companies and educational institutes. Courses include Python, C++ and Java programming, front-end web development as well as issues related to cyber security and the Internet of Things (IoT).
  Operated by IBM, the website releases updated information about big data and analytics in technology in a variety of formats, including blogs, white papers and reports, videos, infographics and podcasts. Business intelligence, cloud database, data governance and other topics are covered.
  The website delivers all sorts of computer programming tutorials for free, such as Python, Java, HTML, SQL and CSS. Video instructions, examples and practices are provided to assist the learning process, together with other useful information and news.
  The website provides a large number of tutorials, references and examples for web developers, covering HTML, CSS, JavaScript, XML, Python, C++ and others. It also offers hands-on exercises and quizzes for practice.
 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Search Tips
The following table lists the call number ranges of the suggested areas related to Computing & Technology under the Library of Congress (LC) Classification Scheme. You can look for library resources of a particular subject area within these ranges.
 
Subject Area Subclass
Science (General) – Cybernetics
 
Q300 - 390
 
Mathematics – Instruments and machines – Electronic computers. Computer science
 
QA75.5 - 76.95
 
Technology (General) – Industrial engineering. Management engineering – Information technology
 
T58.5 - 58.64

 
Mechanical engineering and machinery – Mechanical devices and figures. Automata. Ingenious mechanisms. Robots (General)
 
TJ210.2 - 211.47

 
Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering – Telecommunication
 
TK5101 - 6720
 
Electrical engineering. Electronics. Nuclear engineering – Electronics – Computer engineering. Computer hardware
 
TK7885 - 7895

 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email