Introduction
This guide shares featured books, e-resources and online information related to Business & Management for your learning and research. It also provides search tips to help you identify and locate library resources. Please feel free to explore the guide by clicking on the tabs above.
Discovery Search
 
 
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Reference Tools

Call no.: HD30.4 .E47 2019
ISBN: 9781260091861
Publication Year: 2019
Book
 

This book covers business research topics that combine theory and practice. It discusses the fundamentals of research and details of the whole research process, from formulating research questions, acquiring skills for collecting qualitative and quantitative data to analyzing data and compiling research reports.


 
Schindler, P. S. (2019). Business research methods (13th ed.). McGraw-Hill.

Call no.: KNQ9328 .W66 2018
ISBN: 9789887840510
Publication Year: 2018
Book
 

This manual offers updates on the Hong Kong Companies Ordinance and explains company secretarial practice, legal frameworks and compliance requirements in a concise manner. It also provides procedural checklists and guides to administrative documents and forms to supplement the explanation.


 
Wong, B. (2018). Hong Kong company secretary's practice manual (4th ed.). Wolters Kluwer.

Call no.: KNQ9328 .L63 2018
ISBN: 9789626619858
Publication Year: 2018
Book
 

Written by experts in the field, this book serves as a reference for readers to examine local company laws and legal precedents, review and analyze recent court cases as well as clarify concepts related to the formation of companies, corporate organs, board of directors, equity and debt financing, and liquidation.

 

Lo, S. H. C., & Qu, C. Z. (2018). Law of companies in Hong Kong (3rd ed.). Sweet & Maxwell.

Call no.: KNQ9386.6.A15 H66 2018/19
ISBN: 9789882371071
Publication Year: 2018
Book
 

This book explains the principles and practices of Hong Kong taxation laws for Profits Tax, Salaries Tax, Property Tax, Personal Assessment and Stamp Duty. It also covers court cases, Board of Review decisions and relevant topics such as the development of Hong Kong taxation system and the international aspects of Hong Kong taxation.

 

Lau, A. M., & Olesnicky, M. (2018). Hong Kong taxation: Law & practice (2018-19 ed.). The Chinese University of Hong Kong.
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Books and eBooks

Call no.: HD70.U5 E24 2020
ISBN: 9781292268996
Publication Year: 2020
Book
 

This book discusses in detail the essential elements of managing and organizing businesses, such as business strategies, organizational structure, operations control, human resources management and marketing plans. It also includes themes related to international trade, global economy and business ethics.


 
Ebert, R. J., & Griffin, R. W. (2020). Business essentials (12th ed.). Pearson Education.

Call no.: HF5681.B2 L36 2017
ISBN: 9789814731997
Publication Year: 2017
Book
 

This book includes the latest coverage of IFRS in financial instruments, leases and revenue from contracts with customers. It also provides real-life cases, useful points and tips, and training exercises for practicing accountants in preparing financial reports.


 
Lam, N., & Lau, P. (2017). Intermediate financial reporting: An IFRS perspective (3rd ed.). McGraw-Hill Education.

Call no.: HG4026 .R676 2020
ISBN: 9781260565560
Publication Year: 2020
Book
 

This book covers financial management concepts, knowledge and skills in understanding financial statements and cash flow as well as topics of long-term financing and short-term financial planning. There is also a chapter on the international aspects of financial management, such as foreign exchange markets and exchange rate risk.


 
Ross, S. A., Westerfield, R. W., & Jordan, B. D. (2020). Essentials of corporate finance (10th ed.). McGraw-Hill Education.

Call no.: HD2741.T685 2019
ISBN: 9780198809869
Publication Year: 2019
Book
 

This book explores the concepts and models of corporate governance, the functions of the board, roles played by major stakeholders, corporate regulations and risk control strategies. It also offers case studies on international corporations such as Alphabet Inc., Huawei Group and Jardine Matheson Group to explain corporate governance practices.


 
Tricker, B. (2019). Corporate governance: Principles, policies, and practice (4th ed.). Oxford University Press.

ISBN: 9781292146959
Publication Year: 2017
eBook
 

This book explains the four major elements of management: planning, organizing, leading and controlling. Relevant themes such as organizational goals and culture, decision making and implementation, human resources planning and leadership theories are discussed in detail with case applications provided at the end of each chapter.


 
Robbins, S. P., Coulter, M., & DeCenzo, D. A. (2017). Fundamentals of management: Management myths debunked! (10th ed.). Pearson Education.

Call no.: HF5415 .K636 2018
ISBN: 9781292220178
Publication Year: 2018
Book
 

This book introduces marketing principles and strategies that help companies build customer value and positive customer relationships. It also suggests how companies can manage and analyze marketing information and research data to gain customer insights and deliver value through social media marketing and digital marketing.


 
Kotler, P., & Armstrong, G. (2018). Principles of marketing (17th Global ed.). Pearson Education.

ISBN: 9780804794558
Publication Year: 2015
eBook
 

This book explores human resources (HR) topics in an organizational context, including the roles played by HR organizations, the effectiveness of HR strategies, HR practices as well as the development and changes in the HR industry. It also predicts the future direction of HR and how it can function to become a strategic contributor.


 
Lawler, E. E., III., & Boudreau, J. W. (2015). Global trends in human resource management: A twenty-year analysis. Stanford Business Books.
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Journals

Harvard Business Review


ISSN: 0017-8012
eJournal



Published by Harvard Business Publishing, this magazine covers featured stories and articles about business and management issues around the world. It provides analyses of management problems in global business enterprises and commentaries on various advanced managerial and administrative practices in an increasingly digital world.

Fortune Magazine


ISSN: 0738-5587 (Print); 0015-8529 (Electronic)
Journal



This magazine publishes articles and commentaries on the latest events and development in the areas of finance, technology and politics that affect the global business environment.

MIT Sloan Management Review


ISSN: 1532-9194 (Print); 1532-8937 (Electronic)
eJournal



Published by the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, this magazine provides up-to-date business information in the form of articles, featured stories and special reports. Topics include digital management trend, leadership quality and employer-employee relations.

Academy of Management Review


ISSN: 0363-7425 (Print); 1930-3807 (Electronic)
eJournal



Published quarterly by the Academy of Management in the US, this journal contains peer-reviewed articles mainly about reviews, applications and critiques on management and organizational theories as well as other studies based on these theories.

The Journal of the Hong Kong Institute of Chartered Secretaries


ISSN: 1023-4128
Journal



Published monthly by the Hong Kong Institute of Chartered Secretaries, this journal consists of articles about corporate governance and secretarial practices in Hong Kong and Mainland China. It also covers featured stories of recent global business events.

Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Databases
 
For more subject databases, please view full list
Access icons
Restricted Resource
Mobile Apps
User Guide
Information
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Online Resources
The website provides a large volume of information about business and management issues, including business planning, operations, staffing, organizational performance, advertising and sales in the form of links, recommended texts and learning materials.
  Produced by the University of California Berkeley, the website offers a comprehensive, section-by-section guide on the management of human resources that can assist business professionals in making informed decisions on personnel allocation and management. It also provides relevant HR documents for free download.
  The website is an archive of various government publications related to Hong Kong economy, including featured articles, working papers and reports. Topical research and analyses on different economic mattes with statistical figures are provided.
  The website provides statistical reports on all matters related to the economy and industries of Hong Kong, including labour, energy, external trade and business performance. Most of them can be downloaded and include publications since 1970s.
  The website provides official interpretation of different types of taxes in Hong Kong. Details of the practice, procedures and regulations involved are provided in the related documents for free download.
 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email
Search Tips
The following table lists the call number ranges of the suggested areas related to Business & Management under the Library of Congress (LC) Classification Scheme. You can look for library resources of a particular subject area within these ranges.
 
Subject Area Subclass
Industries. Land use. Labor – Management. Industrial management
 
HD28 - 70
 
Industries. Land use. Labor – Large industry. Factory system. Big business – Corporations
 
HD2709 - 2930.7
 
Commerce – Business
 
HF5001 - 6182
 
Commerce – Business – Marketing. Distribution of products
 
HF5410 - 5417.5
 
Commerce – Business – Personnel management. Employment management
 
HF5549 - 5549.5
 
Commerce – Business – Accounting. Bookkeeping
 
HF5601 - 5689
 
Finance
 
HG1 - 9999
 
Finance – Finance management. Business finance. Corporation finance
 
HG4001 - 4285
 
Public finance
 
HJ9 - 9940
 
Discovery Search
   
Need Help?

Contact us:

 
Tel
General Enquiries: 3653-6620 / Help Desk: 3702-4338
Email